Group Members

View Current Members or Former Members

Graduate Students


  Scott McCann
Joined group: 2012
Email: smccann@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2012, Saginaw Valley State University
  Yu-Heng (Larry) Wang
Joined group: 2012
Email: yhwang@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2007, National Taiwan Normal University
M.S. 2009, National Taiwan University
  Bao Li
Joined group: 2013
Email: bli@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2010, Nanjing University
M.S. 2013, Illinois Institute of Technology
  Yuliya Preger
joint student with Prof. Thatcher Root, Chemical Engineering
Joined group: 2013
Email: preger@wisc.edu
B.S. 2013, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Manar Alherech
Joined group: 2014
Email: malherech@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2014, Binghamton University
  Caitlin Kozack
Joined group: 2015
Email: kozack@wisc.edu
B.S. 2015, Hope College
  Jordan Nutting
(Jordan Buhle)
Joined group: 2015
Email: jnutting@wisc.edu
B.A. 2015, Ripon College
  Chase A. Salazar
Joined group: 2015
Email: csalazar2@wisc.edu
B.S. 2015, University of Oregon
  Aristidis Vasilopoulos
Joined group: 2015
Email: vasilopoulos@wisc.edu
B.S. 2015, Boston College
  Sijie Chen
Joined group: 2016
Email: schen522@wisc.edu
B.S. 2014, Sun Yat-sen University
B.S. 2016, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  Shannon Goes
Joined group: 2016
Email: goes@wisc.edu
B.S. 2016, Iowa State University
  Paige Piszel
Joined group: 2016
Email: piszel@wisc.edu
B.S. 2016, University of Virginia
  Lauren Whitmire
Joined group: 2016
Email: lwhitmire@wisc.edu
B.S. 2016, Grove City College
  Dave Bruns
Joined group: 2017
Email: dbruns@wisc.edu
B.A. 2015, Vanderbilt University

Postdoctoral Researchers and Visiting Scientists


  Dr. Amit Das
Joined group: 2014
Email: adas@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2006, Presidency College, Kolkata, India
M.S. 2008, Presidency College, Kolkata, India
Ph.D. 2012, IIT Bombay, India
Postdoctoral Researcher, 2012-2014, University of Rochester
  Dr. Stephen Tereniak
Joined group: 2014
Email: stereniak@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2009, University of Delaware
Ph.D. 2014, University of Minnesota
  Dr. Alastair Lennox
Joined group: 2015
Email: alennox@wisc.edu
MChem, 2008, University of Manchester, UK
Ph.D. 2012, University of Bristol, UK
Postdoctoral Researcher, 2013-2015, Leibniz Institute for Catalysis, Rostock, Germany
  Dr. Sourav Biswas
Joined group: 2016
Email: sbiswas9@wisc.edu
B.S. 2008, Jadavpur University, India
M.S. 2011, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India
Ph.D. 2016 University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut
  Dr. Michael Ryan
Joined group: 2016
Email: mcryan@wisc.edu
B.S. 2010, Boston College
Ph.D. 2016, Stanford University
  Dr. Colin Anson
Joined group: 2017
Email: canson@chem.wisc.edu
B.A. 2011, Colby College
Ph.D. 2017, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Prof. Huayou Hu
Joined group: 2017
Email: HHu55@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2000, Nanjing University, China
Ph.D. 2005, Nanjing University, China
Postdoctoral Researcher, 2005-2007, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Postdoctoral Researcher, 2007-2008, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Full Professor, 2015, Huaiyin Normal University, China
  Dr. Sung-Eun Suh
Joined group: 2017
Email: ssuh8@wisc.edu
B.S. 2007, Hanyang University, Korea
M.S. 2011, Hanyang University, Korea
Ph.D. 2017, University of Pennsylvania
  Dr. Fei Wang
Joined group: 2017
Email: fwang235@wisc.edu
B.S. 2011, Qingdao University of Science and Technology, Qingdao, China
Ph.D. 2016, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, Shanghai, China

Research Scientists


  Dr. James B. Gerken
Joined group: 2008
Email: jbgerken@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 1996, University of California - San Diego
Ph.D. 2004, University of California - Santa Barbara
Post-doc. 2006-2008, California Institute of Technology
  Dr. Mohammad Rafiee
Joined group: 2014
Email: mrafiee@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2001, Bu-Ali-Sina University, Iran
M.S. 2003, Bu-Ali-Sina University, Iran
Ph.D. 2007, Bu-Ali-Sina University, Iran
Assistant Professor, 2008-2013, Institute for Advanced Studies in Basic Sciences (IASBS), Zanjan, Iran

Undergraduate Students


  Jessica Nurre
Joined group: 2016
Email: jnurre@wisc.edu
  Kaylin Flesch
Joined group: 2017
Email: kflesch2@wisc.edu
  Yeon Jung Kim
Joined group: 2017
Email: ykim673@wisc.edu
  Kaining Mao
Joined group: 2017
Email: kmao6@wisc.edu
  Charlotte O'Sullivan
Joined group: 2017
Email: cosullivan2@wisc.edu
  Jennifer Sowin
Joined group: 2017
Email: jsowin@wisc.edu