Former Group Members

PhD Students


  Maaz Ahmed
Group member: 2012 - 2017
Email: mahmed@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2012, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D. 2017, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Colin Anson
Group member: 2011 - 2017
Email: canson@chem.wisc.edu
B.A. 2011, Colby College
Ph.D. 2017, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Jon Jaworski
Group member: 2010 - 2017
Email: jjaworski@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2009, University of California-Berkeley
Ph.D. 2017, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Timothy F. Jamison
  Kelsey Miles
Group member: 2013 - 2017
Email: kmiles@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2010, Wright State University
M.S. 2013, The Ohio State University
Ph.D. 2017, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Dian Wang
Group member: 2011 - 2017
Email: dwang@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2011, Peking University, China
Ph.D. 2017, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Andrei V. Iosub
Group member: 2010 - 2016
Email: viosub@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2010, Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany
Ph.D. 2016, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Jesaiah King
joint student with Prof. Thatcher Root, Chemical Engineering
Group member: 2013 - 2016
Email: jking@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2013, The Ohio State University
  Sam Kougias
Group member: 2014 - 2016
Email: kougias@wisc.edu
B.S. 2014, University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh
  Jamie Chen
Group member: 2009 - 2015
Email: jchen@chem.wisc.edu
B.A. 2009, Carleton College
Ph.D. 2015, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. Raymond Schaak
  David Mannel
joint student with Prof. Thatcher Root, Chemical Engineering
Group member: 2009 - 2015
Email: mannel@wisc.edu
B.S. 2008, University of Oklahoma
Ph.D. 2015, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Joanne Redford
Group member: 2009 - 2015
Email: jredford@chem.wisc.edu
Joanne Harmata
B.S. 2009, Harvey Mudd College
Ph.D. 2015, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Currently employed at Epic Systems Corporation
  Janelle E. Steves
Group member: 2010 - 2015
Email: jsteves@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2010, Villanova University
Ph.D. 2015, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Paul Chirik
  Alison Wendlandt
Group member: 2010 - 2015
Email: awendlandt@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2007, University of Chicago
Ph.D. 2015, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. Eric Jacobsen
  Adam Weinstein
Group member: 2008 - 2014
Email: abweinstein@wisc.edu
B.S. 2007, University of California - Berkeley
Ph.D. 2014, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. Jonathan Ellman
  Dr. Matthew Rigsby
Group member: 2008 - 2013
Email: mlrigsby@gmail.com
B.S. 2007, University of Washington
Ph.D. 2013, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. James M. Mayer
Puget Sound Naval Shipyard
  Dr. Brad Ryland
Group member: 2008 - 2013
Email: bryland@chem.wisc.edu
B.A. 2008, Columbia University
Ph.D. 2013, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Currently employed at AkzoNobel in Brewster, NY
  Dr. Alison Suess
Group member: 2008 - 2013
Email: alison.suess@navy.mil
B.S. 2008, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Ph.D. 2013, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research Associate with Prof. Gojko Lalic
Puget Sound Naval Shipyard
  Dr. Paul White
Group member: 2008 - 2013
Email: pwhite@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2008, Trinity University
Ph.D. 2013, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Researcher at MIT with Prof. Mei Hong
  Dr. Tianning Diao
Group member: 2007 - 2012
Email: diaotn@gmail.com
B.S. 2007, Fudan University, China
Ph.D. 2012, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research at Princeton University with Prof. Paul Chirik
Assistant Professor at New York University
  Dr. Nattawan Decharin
Group member: 2005 - 2011
Email: decharin@wisc.edu
B.S. 2005, University of Virginia
Ph.D. 2010, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Lecturer at Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, Silpakorn University, Thailand
  Dr. Nikeisha Stephenson
Group member: 2005 - 2011
Email: nstephenson@fas.harvard.edu
B.S. 2005, Ithaca College
Ph.D. 2011, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Researcher at Harvard University with Prof. Tobias Ritter
  Dr. Richard McDonald
Group member: 2005 - 2010
Email: mcdonald@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2005, University of California-Davis
Ph.D. 2010, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Researcher at Harvard University with Prof. David Liu
  Dr. Xuan Ye
Group member: 2005 - 2010
Email: ye@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2003, Peking University, China
Ph.D. 2010, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Researcher in Heidelberg, Germany
  Dr. Jonathan Zhang
Group member: 2005 - 2010
Email: jzhang@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2002, Peking University, China
M. S. 2005, McMaster University, Canada
Ph.D. 2010, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Researcher at University of Minnesota
  Dr. Lauren Huffman
Group member: 2004 - 2009
Email: LMHuffman@dow.com
B.A. 2001, University of Oregon
M.S. 2002, University of Oregon
Ph.D. 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison
National Research Council Post-doctoral Fellow at National Institute of Standards and Technology
Currently employed at Dow Chemical Company
  Dr. Amanda King
Group member: 2004 - 2009
Email: amanda.king@chemie.uni-erlangen.de
B.S. 2003, University of South Florida
Ph.D. 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Humboldt Post-doctoral Fellow with Prof. Karsten Meyer at the Friedrich-Alexander-University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
  Dr. Mike Konnick
Group member: 2002 - 2009
Email: mkonnick@scripps.edu
B.S. 2002, Bucknell University
Ph.D. 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Postdoctoral Research with Prof. Roy Periana at The Scripps Research Institute
Staff Scientist at the Scripps Energy and Materials Center
  Prof. Brian Popp
Group member: 2002 - 2008
Email: Brian.Popp@mail.wvu.edu
B.S. 2001, Wright State University
M.S. 2002, Wright State University
Ph.D. 2007, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Evans-Attwell Post-doctoral Fellow with Prof. Zach Ball at Rice University
Assistant Professor at West Virginia University
  Prof. Chris Scarborough
Group member: 2003 - 2008
Email: christopher.scarborough@emory.edu
B.S. 2003, University of California-Irvine
Ph.D. 2008, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Humboldt Post-doctoral Fellow with Prof. Karl Wieghardt at the Max Planck Institute for Bioinorganic Chemistry, 2009-2011
Assistant Professor at Emory University
  Dr. Michelle M. Rogers
Group member: 2002 - 2007
Email: michelle.m.rogers@gmail.com
B.A. 2002, Washington University in St. Louis
Ph.D. 2007, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Currently employed at Lubrizol
  Dr. Jodie Brice
Group member: 2000 - 2005
Email: bricejod@gmail.com
B.S. 2000, Seton Hall University
Ph.D. 2006, University of Wisconsin , Madison
Currently employed at Roche Carolina Incorporated
  Dr. Sarah Eldred Lee
Group member: 2000 - 2005
Email: sarahalisheva@yahoo.com
B.A. 2000, Northwestern University
Ph.D. 2006, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Currently employed at Baxter Healthcare
  Dr. Brad Steinhoff
Group member: 2000 - 2005
Email: bsteinhoff@eastman.com
B.S. 2000, Carnegie Mellon University
Ph.D. 2005, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Currently employed at Eastman Chemical Company

MS Students


  Jodie Greene
joint student with Prof. Thatcher Root, Chemical Engineering
Group member: 2011 - 2014
Email: jgreene@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2011, North Carolina State University
Currently employed at Exxon Mobil
  Nick Serratore
Group member: 2012 - 2013
Email: nserratore@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2012, University of St. Thomas
  Jaclyn Brown
Group member: - 2012
Email: jackie.brown@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2008, University of Texas at Austin
M.S. 2012, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Currently Ph.D. Student Moore Group- UW-Madison
  Emily Blamer
Group member: 2006 - 2008
Email:
B.S. 2006 Grand Valley State University
M.S. 2008, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  Joel Broussard
Group member: 2006 - 2007
Email:
B.S. 2006 Louisiana State University
M.S. 2007, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  Lani Macartney
Group member: 2006 - 2007
Email: lmacartn@hinsdale86.org
B.S. 2006 DePaul University
M.S. 2007, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Currently employed at Hinsdale Central High School, Hinsdale IL
  Christen Bell
Group member: 2004 - 2006
Email: cmbell@wisc.edu
B.S. 2004, Univ. of Massachusetts , Amherst
M.S. 2006, University of Wisconsin - Madison
  Jenna Harang
Group member: 2003 - 2004
Email:
B.S. 2003, University of Northern Iowa Cedar Falls
Currently employed at Astra-Zeneca
  Karin Otte
Group member: 2002 - 2004
Email: karin_otte@merck.com
B.S. 2002, Ohio State University
M.S. 2004, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Currently employed at Merck
  Maggie Pancost
Group member: 2002 - 2004
Email: pancostmr@yahoo.com
B.A. 2002, University of Maryland
M.S. 2004, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Currently employed at Novartis
  Jamie Coleman
Group member: 2001 - 2003
Email:
M.S. 2003, University of Wisconsin- Madison
  Shannon Fix
Group member: 1999 - 2001
Email: shannon.fix@abbott.com
B.S. 1995, University of Minnesota, Duluth
M.S. 2001 University of Wisconsin- Madison
Currently employed at Abbott Labs (oncology R&D)

Postdoctoral / Visiting Researchers


  Dr. Artavazd Badalyan
Group member: 2014 - 2016
Email: abadalyan@chem.wisc.edu
Dipl. 2008, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia
Ph.D. 2013, University of Potsdam, Germany
  Dr. Damian Hruszkewycz
Group member: 2014 - 2016
Email: hruszkewycz@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2009, The Ohio State University
Ph.D. 2014, Yale University
GlaxoSmithKline
  Dr. Susan Zultanski
Group member: 2013 - 2016
Email: szultanski@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2006, University of Rochester
Ph.D. 2013, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Merck Process
  Dr. Ravi Pokhrel
Group member: 2013 - 2015
Email: rpokhrel@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2008, Trinity University
Ph.D. 2013, Yale University
  Dr. Eric Popczun
Group member: 2015 - 2015
Email: epopczun@wisc.edu
B.S. 2010, University of Mount Union
Ph.D. 2015, The Pennsylvania State University
  Dr. Alireza Rahimi
Group member: 2012 - 2015
Email: ali@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2002, University of Urmia, Iran
M.S. 2005, University of Tehran, Iran
Ph.D. 2011, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany
  Xiaomin Xie
Group member: 2014 - 2015
Email: xie@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 1998, Heilongjiang University, China
Ph.D. 2004,East China University of Science and Technology, China
Postdoctoral Researcher 2004-2006, Shanghai Jiaotong Univesity, China
  Dr. Qing Xu
Group member: 2015 - 2015
Email: qxu59@wisc.edu
B.S. 1999, Zhejiang University, China
Ph.D. 2004, Zhejiang University, China
Postdoctoral researcher 2004-2009, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
Lecturer/Associate Professor, 2009-2012, Wenzhou University, China
Professor, 2012-present, Wenzhou University, China​
  Dr. Jinho Kim
Group member: 2012 - 2014
Email: jinho@incheon.ac.kr
B.S. 2006, Hanyang University, Korea
Ph.D. 2012, Korea Advanced Institute Science & Technology, Korea
Assistant Professor, Incheon National University
  Dr. Huiyuan Ma
Group member: 2013 - 2014
Email: huiyuanma@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 1991, Harbin Normal University, China
Ph.D.2004,Northeast Normal University, China
Postdoctoral Researcher 2004-2007, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  Dr. Adam Powell
Group member: 2011 - 2014
Email: adam.bradley.powell@gmail.com
B.S. 2005, University of Central Florida
Ph.D. 2010, University of Texas at Austin
Currently employed at PPG
  Dr. Sarah Shaner
Group member: 2012 - 2014
Email: sshaner@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2004, Marietta College
Ph.D. 2011, University of Chicago
  Xiaoxia Wu
Group member: 2014 - 2014
Email: xwu@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2009, Chongqing University, China
M.S. 2012, Nanjing University, China
  Dr. Wan Pyo Hong
Group member: 2012 - 2013
Email: wanpyo@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2004, Hanyang University, Korea
Ph.D. 2011, Purdue University
  Dr. Markus Lauber
Group member: 2012 - 2013
Email: mlauber@chem.wisc.edu
Diplom 2009, University of Karlsruhe
Ph.D. 2012, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  Dr. Doris Pun
Group member: 2010 - 2013
Email: doris.s.pun@gmail.com
B.S. 2005, New York University
Ph.D. 2009, Cornell University
Currently employed at BP
  Prof. Jessica Hoover
Group member: 2009 - 2012
Email: jhoover@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2004, Harvey Mudd College
Ph.D. 2009, University of Washington
Assistant Professor at West Virginia University
  Changwu Zheng
Group member: 2010 - 2012
Email: Changwu2010@gmail.com
B.S. 2005, Jiaotong University, China
Ph.D. 2010, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China
Postdoc Researcher at Northwestern University, Thomson Group
  Dr. Alison Campbell
Group member: 2009 - 2011
Email: campbean@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2004, Lafayette College
Ph.D. 2008, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Currently employed at Eli Lilly and Co.
  Yusuke Izawa
Group member: 2009 - 2011
Email: 6503871@cc.m-kagaku.co.jp
B.S. 2001, Waseda University, Japan
M.S. 2003, Waseda University, Japan
2003-present Mitsubishi Chemical Co., Japan
  Dr. Mike Todd
Group member: 2008 - 2010
Email: mtodd@ashland.com
B.S. 2003, University of Scranton
Ph.D. 2008, University of Virginia
Currently employed at Ashland Inc.
  Dr. Zhan (Zic) Lu
Group member: 2008 - 2009
Email: zlu@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2003, Zhejiang University, China
Ph.D. 2008, Zhejiang University, China
Postdoctoral Researcher with Prof. Teshik Yoon at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Dr. Jiang Zhu
Group member: 2008 - 2009
Email:
B.S. 1998, West China Normal University, China
Ph.D. 2006, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China
Post-doc 2006-2008 European Institute of Chemistry and Biology, France
  Dr. Tulay Atesin
Group member: 2007 - 2008
Email: tatesin@chem.wisc.edu
B.S. 2002, Bilkent University, Turkey
Ph.D. 2007, University of Rochester
  Dr. Tetsuya Hamada
Group member: 2005 - 2007
Email: tetsuya.hamada@mitsui-chem.co.jp
B.S. 1994, Kyushu University, Japan
Ph.D. 1999, Kyushu Univeristy, Japan
1999-present, Mitsui Chemicals, Inc., Japan
  Dr. Justin Hoerter
Group member: 2004 - 2007
Email: jhoerter@gmail.com
B.S. 1995, Iowa State University
Ph.D. 2002, University of Wyoming
PostDoc 2002-04, San Diego State University
Currently employed at DuPont
  Dr. Denis Kissounko
Group member: 2005 - 2007
Email: kissounk@udel.edu
M.Sc. 1997 Moscow State University, Russia
Ph.D. 2000 Moscow State University, Russia
Ph.D. 2000 University of Salford, UK
Currently employed at University of Delaware
  Dr. Vasily Kotov
Group member: 2006 - 2007
Email: vasily.kotov@gmail.com

  Prof. Guosheng Liu
Group member: 2005 - 2007
Email: gliu@mail.sioc.ac.cn
Ph.D. 2002, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Science, China
Post-Doc 2003-2005, Lehigh University
Currently employed at Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Science
  Dr. M. Firat Ilker
Group member: 2004 - 2006
Email:
B.S. 1999, Bogazici University , Turkey
Ph.D. 2004, University of Massachusetts Amherst
NSEC Post-doc
  Dr. Vataliy Timokhin
Group member: 2001 - 2004
Email:

  Dr. Natia Anastasi
Group member: 2002 - 2003
Email:

  Dr. Joseph L. Thorman
Group member: 1999 - 2001
Email:

Undergraduates


  Zhenyang Jia
Group member: 2015 - 2017
Email: zjia22@wisc.edu

  Zachary Konz
Group member: 2014 - 2017
Email: zkonz@wisc.edu

  Yutong Pang
Group member: 2014 - 2017
Email: pang6@wisc.edu

  Jingyi Zhao
Group member: 2014 - 2017
Email: jzhao62@wisc.edu

  Zachary Filtz
Group member: 2015 - 2016
Email: zfiltz@wisc.edu

  Anna Tessling
Group member: 2016 - 2016
Email: tessling@wisc.edu

  Xiao Dong
Group member: 2015 - 2015
Email: xdong46@wisc.edu

  McKenna Goetz
Group member: 2013 - 2015
Email: mgoetz2@wisc.edu

  Kuang Jun
Group member: 2012 - 2014
Email: jkuang@wisc.edu

  Garrett Lukin
Group member: 2013 - 2014
Email: glukin@wisc.edu

  Robert C. Masse
Group member: 2010 - 2014
Email: rcmasse@wisc.edu

  Tianyao Wu
Group member: 2013 - 2014
Email: twu58@wisc.edu

  Nick Porubsky
Group member: 2012 - 2013
Email: porubsky@wisc.edu

  Jonathan Kett
Group member: 2011 - 2012
Email: kett@wisc.edu

  Tyler Wadzinski
Group member: 2010 - 2012
Email: wadzinski@wisc.edu

  Geyungian (Harry) Zhu
Group member: 2010 - 2012
Email: gzhu8@wisc.edu

  Sylvia Chen
Group member: 2010 - 2011
Email: schen77@wisc.edu

  Chun Pong (James) Tam
Group member: 2009 - 2011
Email: ctam2@wisc.edu

  Zhi Xu Tan
Group member: 2009 - 2011
Email: ztan5@wisc.edu

  Amanda Baum
Group member: 2009 - 2010
Email:

  Simon Golde
Group member: 2009 - 2010
Email:

  Anh T. Nguyen
Group member: 2010 - 2010
Email: atnguyen2@wisc.edu

  Josh Wiensch
Group member: 2008 - 2009
Email: wiensch@wisc.edu

  Graham Sazama
Group member: 2005 - 2007
Email:
B.Sc. 2007, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  David Stone
Group member: 2002 - 2003
Email:

  David Schuman
Group member: 2011 -
Email: dschuman@wisc.edu

Visiting Students


  Mongkol Buayairaksa
Group member: 2009 - 2010
Email: bsmongkol@chem.wisc.edu
Visiting student from Khon Kaen University, Thailand
  Jiao Jiao
Group member: 2010 - 2010
Email: jjiao01@gmail.com
B.S. 2004, NanKai University, China
M.A. 2009, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  Eric B. Meyer
Group member: 2010 - 2010
Email:
Visiting student from Yale University
  Alicia Casitas
Group member: 2009 - 2009
Email: alicia.casitas@udg.edu
Visiting student/Collaborator from Universitat de Girona, Spain
  Riviam Perez Rodriguez
2
Group member: 2009 - 2009
Email:

  Lvjuan Yang
Group member: 2008 - 2008
Email: lujuanyang@gmail.com
Visiting student from Xiamen University, China
  Ana Bergant
Group member: 2007 - 2007
Email: ana.b.siriusgreen@gmail.com
Visiting student from University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  Jaruwan Chatwichien
Group member: 2006 - 2006
Email: jaaru_napee@hotmail.com
Visiting student from Mahidol University, Thailand